beach volleyball – london 2012

22 Aug
 I’m pretty sure everyone is getting a bit sick of the Olympics (and Kate Middleton’s navy blazer and cork wedges – mix it up a bit woman!), but I do think my recent trip to beach volleyball is worth a mention. I was sceptical. As I waited for Ollie outside the entrance, a stream of lairey guys surged past. Maybe 1 in 10 spectators were of the fairer sex. I thought I was in for two hours of being jostled by drunkards straining to get a closer look at bikini-clad asses. 
 
But I was nervous for no reason – this is not like any Olympic event I’ve been too before. This is a party! There is a DJ, a compere, fans are dressed up like Where’s Wally. We are whipped into a frenzy by the compere every time a point is scored, and we even have to cheer for the people who rake the sand. “Let’s hear it for the RAKEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEERRRRRRS!!!!”

  There were Dancing Girls between sets.

  David Cameron has been complaining that if he hears ‘We Will Rock You’ one more time he will go insane. I thought he was just being a whinging pom, but you can literally see the sitting room of 10 Downing Street from the stands (on the left of this photo). I could see when he turned the light off, then on, then off again. Poor baby Florence. 

 None of the matches I saw had Team GB playing, so I was interested to see which team the audience would offer their allegiance to. A silly question. Brazil walked out in full body suits, Germany walked out in bikinis. Two seconds later?  “Let’s hear it for GEEEEEEEEEERRRRRRMAAAAANYYYYYY!!”

 

 

 

 
One Response to “beach volleyball – london 2012”

  1. cath August 22, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    Sounds like loads of fun! Wish l was there xx

Leave a Reply

