why i love my kindle

18 Apr

I was anti e-readers for a very long time. I love the smell of books…I like seeing them lined up on my bookshelf…I like lending them to friends. Actually, I don’t like lending. Because who has ever seen a lent out book again?

When the Kindles were finally released at the tight arse friendly price of 89 pounds last year, I succumbed, justifying the purchase as ultimately a money saving exercise – a Kindle would be a very cost effective way to roar through the classics, as they’re out of copyright and therefore free.

What I didn’t realise was that the Kindle would become my best friend. Any Londoner knows that you spend a lot of time waiting around…and having a tiny library in your bag at all times is a godsend. I’ve read more books in the last few months than I’ve read in years because I can pull out the Kindle whenever I’m killing time.

I’ve also saved a fortune on trash mags. Who’s got time to read about Pippa Middleton’s weekend when I need to find out if Jane Eyre and Mr Rochester are going to hook up?

And my favourite thing about the Kindle? Nobody can see that I’m actually reading Confessions of a Shopaholic.

My Kindle is protected by a Gelaskins cover.

2 Responses to “why i love my kindle”

  1. Aziza April 18, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    Hi! I feel myself being more and more drawn to making the kindle purchase. My only fear is that I’ll become even worse at starting& reading 7 books simultaneously…

    • Jane April 19, 2012 at 11:54 am #

      i think you should bite the bullet and buy it. I don’t regret it. I think the most simple Kindle is all you need. I can’t see myself ever needing a Kindle Touch or any of the other gizmos out there.

      It’s true that you will probably end up reading 7 books at the same time. My current problem is that I download samples and i read all of those at the same time.

      Another big plus is that there are a lot of short books that are only available as e-books. Vanity Fair has published a couple of great e-books that I’ve really enjoyed.

      Let me know if you end up buying one.

Leave a Reply

